Off the 7

I live right off the 7 train in Flushing, Queens. There are so many things I could say about Flushing. During the day, its always busy. Filled with people, mainly Chinese immigrants from all different provinces but still very culturally diverse, all trying to get where they need to be. You can find restaurants, offices, shopping centers, and a bunch of little shops all around Flushing.

I took my walk around the block in the middle of the day on Sunday. People passing by, who are probably grocery shopping or heading to the main street. Some people are waiting for the bus. There are apartment complexes and a couple of small shops around my block. There’s a restaurant, a deli, a pharmacy, a Korean video store, a Western Union, and a couple of offices. Most of the media I found on my block came from all the different signs and storefronts, filling the street with color. Ads on the windows, displaying what they’re selling or if there are any special offers. A 20% off sign in one of the stores but I don’t know what they were selling. Some graffiti here and there and that’s about it.

I’m not sure how I feel about living in Flushing. I hate it but at the same time, I do kinda love it here.

Photo Sep 24, 1 02 32 PM

 

-Austin Chou

 

Leave a comment